• Home
  • About
  • Multilateral Engagement Working Group

Multilateral Engagement Working Group

One of the primary objectives of the GRC is to actively facilitate and promote bilateral and multilateral collaboration among participant organisations, with the aim of supporting the global science enterprise, fostering the worldwide research community, and effectively addressing global challenges.

The Multilateral Engagement Working Group (MLE-WG) was created as a result from the broad interest of GRC participants for a stronger multilateral engagement, and has the following objectives:

  1. map the landscape of available multilateral funding mechanisms/programmes globally;
  2. scope possible roles for the GRC in facilitating multilateral engagement; and
  3. develop options for respective implementation and a roadmap for multilateral collaboration.



At the 10th GRC Annual Meeting in Panama, a side-event brought together approximately 60 participants from 35 countries/organisations to discuss the need for multilateral funding endeavours. The participants emphasised the importance of effective multilateral research funding taking a necessarily broader perspective on global crises/challenges. The participants explored general mechanisms and tools for multilateral funding in scientific research, addressing challenges and collecting ideas for the GRC to potentially advocate for, facilitate, or develop its own mechanisms and tools for multilateral engagement.

Based on these preliminary results, the GRC Governing Board mandated the organisers of the side event to outline options for a continued and goal-oriented discussion towards scoping and implementing possible roles for the GRC in facilitating multilateral engagement.

The GRC Multilateral Engagement Working Group (MLE-WG) was officially established in 1 June 2023 during the 11th GRC Annual Meeting held in The Hague. The working group can be contacted through its secretariat at grc@dfg.de

Current members are:


Ana Vásquez Herrera

National Agency for Research and Innovation (ANII), Uruguay

Catherina Dhooge

National Scientific & Technical Research Council (CONICET), Argentina

Euclides de Mesquita Neto

São Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP), Brazil

Karen Lips

National Science Foundation (NSF), United States

Sharapiya Kakimova

National Agency for Research and Development of Chile (ANID), Chile

Shaun Baron

Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), Canada


Enrico Paringit

Philippine Council for Industry, Energy, and Emerging. Technology Research and Development (DOST-PCIEERD), Philippines

Li Wencong,

National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC), China

Orakanoke Phanraksa,

Thailand Science Research and Innovation (TSRI), Thailand

Osamu Kobayashi (Co-Chair)

Japan Science and Technology Agency (JST), Japan


Helena Burg

Luxembourg National Research Fund (FNR), Luxembourg

Kristin Danielsen

Research Council of Norway (RCN), Norway

Lidia Borrell-Damian

Science Europe, Europe

Marcus Wilms

German Research Foundation (DFG), Germany

Michael Bright

UK Research and Innovation (UKRI), United Kingdom

Michael Ryan

Science Foundation Ireland (SFI), Ireland


Ali Bumajdad

Kuwait Foundation for the Advancement of Sciences (KFAS), Kuwait

Hassan Y. Alayied

King Abdulaziz City for Science and Technology (KACST), Saudi Arabia

Sub-Saharan Africa 

Cephas Adjei Mensah

Ministry of Environment, Science, Technology and Innovation, Ghana

Jacob Kamwaria Njagih

National Research Fund (NRF), Kenya

Prudence Makhura (Co-Chair)

National Research Foundation (NRF), South Africa

Sékou Traoré,

Ministry for Higher Education, Research and Innovation, Guinea