• Home
  • About
  • Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion Working Group

Equality, Diversity, and Inclusion Working Group

The EDI Working Group continues the work of the Gender Working Group formed in 2017 to contribute to implementing the Statement of Principles and Actions: Promoting the Equality and Status of Women in Research (endorsed in 2016). As of 2023, to accommodate the increased mandate, the Gender Working Group was renamed EDI Working Group. Accountable to the Executive Support Group, the group is guided, in its deliberations, activities, and strategic planning, by the idea that broadening participation and practicing inclusive analysis contributes to research and innovation. It promotes gender equality from an intersectional perspective, considering the overlapping of gender with other dimensions of inequality, such as race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, disability, and geographical location. On that basis, the EDIWG is advancing the following initiatives.

  • Promoting the integration of an equity, diversity, and inclusion lens into the design of the GRC’s vision for the next ten years, strategic planning, road map, and annual themes.

  • Striving to integrate relevant EDI considerations in GRC-developed programs, resources, and future work streams.

  • Working to build knowledge and provide strategic and transformative analysis and advice to the GRC and the member organizations on an ongoing basis.

In 2021, the EDI WG produced a seminal report underscoring the importance of collecting, analysing, and reporting gender-disaggregated data. This report marks the first aggregation of trends, practices, and experiences of GRC-participating organisations regarding gender-disaggregated data. It focuses on applications, review, and funding; the gender dimension in research; and data at the intersection of equality, diversity and inclusion.

The working group is composed of representatives from all the GRC regions nominated and supported by their respective GRC Heads of Research Councils. Working group members are the lead EDIWG champions in their respective GRC regions. The EDIWG may request additional expertise as necessary.

Current members are:

Ana Maria Fonseca de
Almeida (co-lead)

São Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP)

Mateo AnauatiNational Scientific and Technical Research Council (CONICET)
Kara Hoover

National Science Foundation (NSF)

Sharapiya KakimovaNational Agency for Research and Development (ANID)
Susana CelisNational Agency for Research and Development (ANID)
Ajeng Arum SariNational Research and Innovation Agency (BRIN)
Nicola JenkinMinistry of Business, Innovation and Employment (MBIE)
New Zealand
Romyen KosaikanontThailand Science Research and Innovation (TSRI)
Thilina KandanamullaNational Science Foundation (NSF)
Sri Lanka
Adrien Braem(co-lead)Science Europe
Duygu ÇELİKThe Scientific and Technological Research Institution of Turkey (TÜBİTAK)
Eva ReichweinGerman Research Foundation (DFG)
Jasmine LorenziniSwiss National Science Foundation (SNSF)
Marion BolandScience Foundation Ireland (SFI)
Nia GloverUK Research and Innovation (UKRI) 
United Kingdom
Maha M. KhayyatKing Abdulaziz City for Science and Technology (KACST)
Saudi Arabia
Maryam Al NabhaniMinistry of Higher Education, Research and Innovation (MoHERI)
Sadim JawharNational Research Fund (QNRF)
Sub-Saharan Africa 
Aminata Kabore-CompaoreLe fonds National pour la Recherche
et de l'Innovation pour le Developpement (FONRID)
Burkina Faso
Annette OuataraFonds pour la Science, la Technologie et l'Innovation (FONSTI)
Ivovy Coast
Bestina DanielTanzania Commission for Science and Technology (COSTECH)
Daouda DioufMinistère Enseignement Supérieur et Recherche (MESRI)
Generosa SimonNational Commission on Research Science and Technology (NCRST)
Johannes NdjambaNational Commission on Research Science and Technology (NCRST)
Marcia Vitorino NhacuongueFundo Nacional de Investigação (FNI)
Ndèye Sine DiopMinistère Enseignement Supérieur et Recherche (MESRI)
Nsama MatakaNational Science and Technology Council (NSTC)
Robert GansoreLe fonds National pour la Recherche et de
l'Innovation pour le Developpement (FONRID)
Burkina Faso
Rose Nandiolo-KoneUniversité Alassane Ouattara
Ivory Coast
Rudo TamanganiResearch Council of Zimbabwe (RCZ)
Thashni PillayNational Research Foundation (NRF)
South Africa

COVID-19 NOTE: The GRC EDI Working Group (previously Gender Working Group) acknowledges that taking the diversity of the researcher pool into consideration while thinking about policies to accommodate the myriad of situations generated by COVID- 19 requires access to good-quality information. Therefore, the EDIWG would like to take this opportunity to present to GRC participating organisations a set of questions to consider in the early stages of formulating strategies, policies, actions and in dialogues with the research workforce along with examples of initiatives underway in GRC participating organisations in response to some of these situations.

The working group has also compiled a list of EDI-informed measures taken by GRC participating organisations to address COVID-19 effects on researchers – here.